Hello World!

And I’m writing my first post… I suppose that’s a good start to this blogging thing?

Hi! Some basic facts about myself: 20, Australian/Indonesian, socially awkward. I graduated from high school in May of this year, applied to several universities a couple of months later, heard back from one of the universities not too long ago (I was accepted!), and am now waiting to hear back from my top choice. All of this waiting around has been eating away at me – Will I get in? Will I not?! It’s pretty nerve-wracking to say the least. I’ve been needing something to keep my mind off of everything and I thought, “hey, blogging sounds fun.” And here we are…

I’ve been contemplating starting a blog for a while now, but as per usual, I’ve been procrastinating. Another reason for the delay is my fear of commitment. Okay, it’s not exactly a fear. But I’ve noticed that recently, I haven’t really been able to commit to something for any longer than a month or two. I say “recently” because I used to be involved in many high school endeavours that required long-term commitment, such as being apart of the high school basketball and netball teams. I also say “recently” because I’ve recently tried to stick to a diet and workout plan (the keyword there is tried). I was worried about the upkeep and constant maintenance of a blog but I figured, I really needed something to distract me from reality and this blog will probably improve my commitment skills, right? It’s a win-win. And I’m ready for a challenge – so, I’m really hoping that I’ll be able to maintain this blog for at least… you ready? An entire year!

I didn’t come up with a plan of what my blog would be about specifically – I just sort of dove straight in with a start-now-think-later mentality. I will however probably write about life experiences more than anything. I’m not entirely too sure; I guess you’ll find out when I do… suspense!


Are any of you waiting to hear back from colleges?
Or if you’ve already started, how was your first week there?

Because I think the first week is going to be the most stressful week for me in terms of getting settled in and making new friends – help!!

22 thoughts on “Hello World!

  1. bravojoy says:

    Hello! Love your first post & the name of your blog too!
    I finished college a couple years ago but for the most part it was a great experience! The first week was fun; there was a lot of “introductory” stuff where we got to meet a lot of new people! Some of those people I am still great friends with today! Hope you hear back from your university soon!

    Liked by 1 person

    • dreamingunderatrillionstars says:

      Hey! I’m hoping I’ll be able to put myself out there during the first week especially as I am really shy. But we’ll see how it goes. I’ll probably be writing a post about my first week at uni – and if I get in at all – some time in the next couple of months if you’re interested 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. ThisDarlingAdventure says:

    Love it! And for sure, don’t worry about college. It will be fun and you will learn a lot about life in and out of the classroom! Just be yourself and surround yourself with awesome people that you can even look up to (you are known by the company you keep)! And choose joy 🙂 (even in the midst of papers, finals, and all that other stuff). You got this! Go get ’em!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

